A blinding screech

Escapes my lungs

As I walk

In darkness.

 

Breathing turns to fiendish growls.

Shoulders hunch and my back rises

A despicable creature.

 

Just before surrender

I scan the area to ensure solitude.

Impatient eyes fall on the path

And another ferocious cry explodes from my chest

Like that of a beast in captivity,

Frantically demanding release.

 

My face becomes distorted as this

Ominous presence

Materializes from within.

Hideous, I think,

Unlike anything I could imagine.

And at this realization,

I stop.

 

My heart beating rapidly.

This thing inside me,

Seeming to have come

From darkness itself.

 

Unless it has always been a part of me.

Dormant like a dog,

Performing the only trick he was taught –

To play dead –

Since he was born.

