In all honesty, when I read the very first sentence of this short story, “Lately I don’t dream about Anthony. I dream about the rotary.” my expectations were set pretty low. Before finishing a page of the story, I already had an expectation that the plot would be cliche, unimpressive, and simply, boring. “A plot about a relationship between a girl and a guy? A plot about a rotary?” I thought skeptically. Giving the short story a chance, however, I soon realized the depth of meaning within the story I had initially thought to be so simple. Despite the plot weighing heavily on the seemingly bland topic of a rotary, the powerful effect that this factor had on a deeper meaning of the story is incredible.

Constantly throughout the story, the main character’s internal conflict with driving through a rotary is paralleled so well with her unwillingness to get involved with her boyfriend Anthony sexually. If this short story was merely about the conflict between the main character and Anthony, I feel that it would be portrayed much less effectively. The plot of the main character’s situation with the rotary serves as a great analogy to that of her relationship with Anthony, and describes it with much more depth than the method of trying to describe the relationship directly. What I expected to be so irrelevant and ineffective turned out to be vital in making this short story have a lasting effect. Now that I think about it, everything that the author has written serves an important purpose for the meaning of the story. Especially the colloquial tone that the main character uses in itself portrays her personality more effectively, and therefore, helps to complicate the meaning of the entire story. Taking even the inherently simple and uncreative and using it in a completely unexpected way proves to be very creative in Dessen’s short story. This method also reminds me of poetry, how a situation or object is described in ways never before explained.

